Football: Heisman award landslide sees Joe Burrrow collect 2019’s honours

This past week, Joe Burrow became the second student-athlete in the history of Louisiana State University Tigers to win the prestigious Heisman trophy. The Heisman is awarded to the most outstanding NCAA football player from the past season. LSU’s last player to win was running back, Billy Cannon back in 1959. Burrow, the fifth-year senior, also became the first LSU player since Kansas City Chiefs star safety, Tyrann Mathieu.

After transferring from the Ohio State Buckeyes back in 2018, Burrow has been clinical with the Tigers. He led LSU to a perfect 13-0 season and a Southeastern Conference (SEC) title. The star quarterback also led the country in touchdown passes with 48 while only throwing six interceptions. He set an NCAA record in passing completion percentage with an outstanding 77.9%. Burrow also was the first player in SEC history to have thrown over 4,000 yards and 40 passing touchdowns in a single season.

Image result for joe burrow gif
Burrow celebrates (LSU Athletics)

Joe Burrow received 841 votes for first place, 90.7%, another record, while the runner up, Jalen Hurts, only took 12. With his win, Burrow becomes the fourth straight quarterback to win the award. Burrow also ended the University of Oklahoma Sooner’s two-year winning streak of the award.

The Tiger’s next game is the Peach Bowl against the aforementioned Oklahoma Sooners with the top seed for the playoffs. They and Burrow will also look to play in the championship game for the first time since 2007 when the Tigers beat the Buckeyes.

With Burrow playing in his fifth and final year and the NFL entry draft coming up, he’ll be looking to win the National Championship title and add more accolades to his resume. As Burrow continues to put up crazy numbers and break records, only one question remains. Will he be taken first overall in the NFL Entry Draft and be the sixth quarterback in the last seven drafts to be taken first overall?

Leave a Reply